Someone is killing llamas in Western PA

…and I can’t understand it!

According to this news article, two llamas from neighboring farms were shot in the head as they harmlessly stood in their fields late at night. While the police are looking for a connection, I don’t think anyone is fooling themselves that the crimes aren’t connected: the 2 crimes happened one right after the other, and the amount of time to travel from one farm to the other is approximately the same amount of time between the incidents. I’m sure simple ballistics tests could come back as a match.

I can’t understand why someone would do this! Why would you go out late at night in a rural area (11:30 at one farm, midnight at the other farm), take a gun, and shoot a defenseless animal in the head as it stands harmlessly in its field?  If you’re the type of person who likes to shoot animals, why llamas?!?! Why not wait for hunting season to open and shoot at deer or turkeys or something?

I had the great pleasure to meet some llamas at Rhinebeck. They are gentle and interesting animals.  They have beautiful coats, and a proud bearing.  Llamas also act as guards for livestock, and are friendly and curious with humans.  They form bonds, for they are very social animals, and the herd is important to them.  When I read how the offspring of one of the llamas killed was crying as they buried its parent, it hurt.  I’m not surprised members of a closely bonded herd would react in such a way to a sudden violent death.

The idea that someone would just shoot one of these beautiful and interesting creatures in the head because they can upsets me greatly.  I hope they catch whoever it is that did this, before they do it again.  This … I hate to use the word “person” as they clearly have no good human qualities … “individual” needs to be stopped.  I have all kinds of ideas in my head for what punishment SHOULD be meted out, but will temper it with saying they should be “prosecuted to the full extent of the law…” even though I know whatever punishment is dealt will never return those beautiful animals to those families, won’t reinstate that source of their livelihood, won’t bring a member back to its herd, and won’t comfort the children to whom those animals were like pets.

On a final note, I guess I should note that perpetrators of most crimes in this world make me sick, but this is a crafts and fiber journal, so THIS crime is pertinent and explains why I’m on my soapbox about this.  I usually avoid the news if I can, as most of it upsets my sensitive nature, but I can’t be silent about this one.

To the farmers who were hurt by this action: I hope they catch the person who did this to you.

Leave a Reply

