The Summer that knocked my socks off!

I had drafted this post yesterday, but I think my iPhone ate it. I’ve never posted from my iPhone before, so let’s see what happens.

I can’t believe it’s October already! We had a good, if busy, summer, between traveling to the Pacific Northwest to visit my folks, various social plans, BBQs, work picnics, etc., and then my folks coming here to Pittsburgh to celebrate their 40th anniversary with us (yay!) it’s amazing I got any knitting done. I did, though, and it was mostly sock knitting, much to my awe and wonder.

You see, socks used to be scary. All those little needles and fine yarns intimidated me. That didn’t stop me from acquiring a large sock yarn stash over the years, however. Apparently I am attracted to the stuff.

So after years of saying “some day I’ll knit some socks” I finally decided to hold my nose and cannonball into the deep end of sock knitting.

At first, it was frustrating. At some point, however, it clicked. It made sense. I’m not even sure when that happened but one night I was winging along turning a heel when I realized I completely grokked the process of a top-down sock on dpns. Woot!

Attached are photos of the socks I finished over the summer, which, being the WordPress app on my iPhone, means the pics will appear at the bottom of this post, so I will describe them briefly here.

2 pairs of socks for Fred: one a simple rib knit in some green variegated yarn I don’t remember the name of, but it was German and bought locally, and a Simple Skyp pattern in Knit Picks Essential in pine.

A pair of baby socks for my cousin Sarah’s new baby, Nora Anne, in Claudia Handpaints in cotton candy.

Two pairs of footies for me, one in Knit Picks Gloss in pumpkin, and the other in the Steelers colorway by Claudia Handpaints.

And now I’ve upped the ante by trying a toe-up sock, magic loop, and have gotten one done. I’ll post about that later when I’ve finished the pair.

To sum up: I love sock knitting, and I don’t know why I was so afraid to try it for so long. I have a lot of sock knitting to do, too, so I guess I’d better get cracking on some more now. 🙂

Published by Beth

I reside in North Carolina with my husband Fred and am acclimating to a new area after 13 years in Pittsburgh. In the past few years I have completely changed my life (and I couldn't do it without support from family and friends). I now work as a writer and editor, and my favorite topics to write about are how to live a more positive life, book reviews, and sharing my crafts. Welcome! By the way, following links on this post may result in my earning a small fee. As an Amazon Affiliate I earn from qualifying purchases.

One thought on “The Summer that knocked my socks off!

Leave a comment